Filter options:

Freebase Commons Common /common

  • The Beehive Boot, which signifies instate football supremacy among Division I universities from the state of Utah, was conceived in 1971. The authentic pioneer boot, which is estimated to be well over 100 years old, is awarded annually to the Utah school with the best record against its instate NCAA Division I foes. The schools who compete for the boot are Brigham Young, Utah, and Utah State. Weber State was originally eligible to win the trophy, and games against them counted towards their opponents record when determining the winner of the trophy. It is unclear when this stopped being the case, but it was at least by 2012, when Utah State won the trophy over BYU. In case of tie, the winner is chosen by vote of the in-state media. Such an event has only happened four times previously: in 1973, 1997, 2010, and in 2012. Utah State was awarded the trophy in each year. Utah was awarded the trophy in 2011, winning their only intrastate game against Brigham Young. In addition to the Beehive Boot, BYU and Utah State also play for The Old Wagon Wheel. The same three universities also play for a state-wide trophy in basketball, called the Old Oquirrh Bucket.