Filter options:

Freebase Commons Metaweb System Types /type

Object is not asserted on this topic.

Freebase Commons Common /common

Also known as
  • The Cotton Bowl Classic is an American college football bowl game that is one of six premier bowl games that are part of the new College Football Playoff. Between 1937 and 2009 the game was played at its namesake stadium in Dallas, Texas. The game hosted the champion of the Southwest Conference until that conference's dissolution in 1996. The other invited team was often the second-place or third-place finisher in the Southeastern Conference or a major independent. From 1999 until 2014, the game also hosted a team from the Big 12 Conference against a team from the SEC. Currently, the two teams playing in the Cotton Bowl will be selected by the CFP Selection Committee. Until 2014, the Cotton Bowl selected its teams after the participants in the five Bowl Championship Series games and the Capital One Bowl had been selected. In total, these games took either one or two teams from the Big 12 and either two or three teams from the SEC. The Cotton Bowl organizers chose from the remaining Big 12 teams and usually chose the conference's runner up if that team was not BCS qualified.