close

  
Filter options:

Freebase Commons Common /common

  • We occasionally get requests to delete an account on Freebase. You might be surprised to hear that this is really hard for us to do! Because we want to keep the history of edits made by a user, we can't just delete the account and wipe out everything associated with it. What we can do, instead, is to anonymise your account.When you request for your account to be deleted, the following will occur:We will contact you at your registered email address to ensure that it was you who requested itWe will change your username to something like "deleted20090101" (the number is the date the account was deleted)We will remove all information on your user profile, including your description, pictures, links to your personal websites, links to a Person topic about you, and so forthOnce this is done, your username and personal identification will no longer appear on the Freebase.com website. However, it may take a while for Google and other search engines to update their caches and notice the change.One final thing you should be aware of: Because Freebase uses an append-only database, the full history of your account, including the information which we removed, may still be available via our API to those who are specifically seeking historical information.

Freebase Commons Freebase /freebase

Comments

Hide