Filter options:

Freebase Commons Metaweb System Types /type

Object is not asserted on this topic.

Freebase Commons Common /common

  • Marquess of Linlithgow, in the County of Linlithgow or West Lothian, is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. It was created in 1902 for John Hope, 7th Earl of Hopetoun. The current holder of the title is Adrian Hope. This branch of the Hope family descends from Sir Charles Hope, grandson of Sir James Hope, sixth son of Sir Thomas Hope, 1st Baronet, of Craighall. In 1703 he was created Lord Hope, Viscount Aithrie and Earl of Hopetoun in the Peerage of Scotland, with remainder to the heirs male and female of his body. He later served as Lord Lieutenant of Linlithgowshire and as Governor of the Bank of Scotland. Lord Hopetoun married Lady Henrietta, only surviving daughter of William Johnstone, 1st Marquess of Annandale. He was succeeded by his eldest son, the second Earl. In 1763 he succeeded his kinsman as fourth Baronet, of Kirkliston. His son from his first marriage, the third Earl, served as Lord Lieutenant of Linlithgowshire from 1794 to 1816 and sat in the House of Lords as a Scottish Representative Peer from 1784 to 1794. In 1792 Lord Hopetoun succeeded his great-uncle as de jure fifth Earl of Annandale and Hartfell, although he never successfully claimed this title.