Filter options:

Freebase Commons Metaweb System Types /type

Object is not asserted on this topic.

Freebase Commons Common /common

Also known as
  • Samarqand Region is one of the regions of Uzbekistan. It is located in the center of the country in the basin of Zarafshan River. It borders with Tajikstan, Navoiy Region, Jizzakh Region and Qashqadaryo Region. It covers an area of 16,400 km². The population is estimated to be around 2,322,000, with some 75% living in rural areas. Samarqand Region was established on January 15, 1938, and is divided into 14 administrative districts. The capital is Samarqand. Other major towns include Bulung‘ur, Juma, Ishtixon, Kattaqo‘rg‘on, Urgut, and Oqtosh. The climate is a typically arid continental climate. Samarkand is the 2nd largest center for economy, science, and culture in Uzbekistan, after Tashkent. The Institute of Archeology at the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan is based at Samarqand. The region's UNESCO World Heritage Site architectural monuments are world famous, and make Samarkand the largest center for international tourism in the country. Samarqand Region also has significant natural resources, including construction materials such as marble, granite, limestone, carbonate, and chalk.

Freebase Commons Location /location

Street Address Street Address 2 Street Address 3 Street Address 4 City/Town State/Province/Region Postal Code Country
  • -
Measurement date Measurement currency Measurement value Adjustment date Adjustment currency Adjusted value Source
  • -