<p>The German Democratic Republic (GDR; German: Deutsche Demokratische Republik [ˈdɔʏtʃə demoˈkʀaːtɪʃə ʀepuˈbliːk] or DDR), informally known as East Germany (German: Ostdeutschland), was a socialist state established by the USSR in 1949 in the Soviet zone of occupied Germany, including East Berlin of the Allied-occupied capital city. The GDR had an area of 107,771 km (41,610 mi), bordering Czechoslovakia to the south, West Germany to the south and west, Poland to the east, and the Baltic Sea to the north. East Germany was dissolved upon joining the institutions of West Germany in the German reunification, on 3 October 1990.
East Germany has often been described as one of several satellite states of the Soviet Union. Some East Germans saw the state as illegitimate, artificial, and a Stalinist puppet regime, and they opposed the single-party state of the Socialist Unity Party while viewing the state of West Germany as more attractive. Some East Germans regularly referred to the Socialist Unity Party as "the Russian party". The combination of the state's perceived illegitimacy by East Germans and economic problems resulted in 2.7 million East Germans violating the DDR ban on leaving the</p>