Filter options:

Freebase Commons Common /common

  • National Heroes of Nepal is a list of Nepalese people, that also includes those from ancient or medieval times, who were selected to their ranks posthumously by a commission headed by famous literate Balkrishna Sama who was appointed by the King Mahendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev, in 1955. The commission was directed to make nominations on the basis of their contributions to the nation, its influence and consequences. On these regards, the commission nominated people by their contributions to the pride of the nation be it in religious, cultural or economic reforms, wartime bravery, to the cause of democracy, literature, architecture. The title National Heroes of Nepal is only offered posthumously and is not a regular title or award, but conferred only upon the discussions of the commission now led by Nepal Rajakiya Pragya Pratisthana. King Janak Sita Amshuverma Sankhadhar Sakhwa King Ram Shah King Prithvi Narayan Shah Bhimsen Thapa Amar Singh Thapa Balbhadra Kunwar Mahaguru Falgunanda King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah Pasang Lhamu Sherpa Araniko Moti Ram Bhatta Gautam Buddha Bhrikuti