Filter options:

Freebase Commons Metaweb System Types /type

Object is not asserted on this topic.

Freebase Commons Common /common

  • The Burma Division was a static formation of the British Indian Army. It was created as part of the 1903 reforms of the Indian Army by Herbert Kitchener, 1st Earl Kitchener then Commander-in-Chief, India. The task of such formations was to oversee area brigades commanding Internal Security troops. The formation is best thought of as a provincial or district command rather than as an infantry division. The headquarters of the division was at Maymyo. At the start of World War I the division consisted of: Commander Major General T Pilcher Rangoon Brigade, Brigadier General Johnstone 4th Battalion Worcestershire Regiment 1st Battalion Royal Munster Fusiliers 66th Punjabis 79th Infantry 89th Punjabis 64th & 75th Batteries Royal Garrison Artillery 22 Mountain Battery Royal Garrison Artillery Mandalay Brigade, Major General Raitt 1st Battalion Border Regiment 64th Pioneers 80th Infantry 91st Punjabis 1/10th Gurkha Rifles

Freebase Commons Organization /organization

Street Address Street Address 2 Street Address 3 Street Address 4 City/Town State/Province/Region Postal Code Country
  • -